Chemistry

Chemistry is the study of matter and the changes it undergoes. Chemistry is called the central science, because a basic knowledge of chemistry is essential in many science fields including biology, physics, geology, engineering and material science.

Knowledge of chemistry is essential for many important areas of life which includes: pharmaceuticals, plastics and other polymers, material composites, electronics, fuels, batteries, food additives, etc. Chemistry is essential in studying atmospheric science, medical science, pollution control, genetics, and new materials applications.
 
The Brazosport College Chemistry Program has the goal of providing training and knowledge in fundamental chemistry principles, critical thinking using those fundamentals, analytical chemistry techniques, and a thorough knowledge of organic chemistry fundamentals.

Contact Us

Gary Hicks
Division Chair
Office: HS.212Q
Phone: 979-230-3291
Fax: 979-230-3559
gary.hicks@brazosport.edu

Deborah Moreno
AOS/Admin. Office Specialist
Office: HS.212P
Phone: 979-230-3618
Fax: 979-230-3559
deborah.moreno@brazosport.edu

Jennifer Kennon
College/Industry Coordinator
Office: HS.212N
Phone: 979-230-3427
Fax: 979-230-3559
jennifer.kennon@brazosport.edu

Rebecca Harper
PT/Admin. Office Assistant
Office: HS.212M
Phone: 979-230-3159
Fax: 979-230-3559
rebecca.harper@brazosport.edu

Dr. Judy Chu
Faculty
Office: HS.212D
Phone: 979-230-3425
Fax: 979-230-3559
judy.chu@brazosport.edu

Dr. Kirby Lowery
Faculty
Office: HS.212L
Phone: 979-230-3530
Fax: 979-230-3559
kirby.lowery@brazosport.edu

Office Hours

Monday - Thursday
7:30am - 5:00pm

Friday
8:00am - Noon

Faculty office hours may vary.
Individual schedule posted on office door.